By default, when you delete a file or folder, it gets placed in our trash can. You can easily empty the trash by right clicking on it, and choosing the 'Empty' option. You can also easily empty the trash can via the command line. This may also be your only way if you are running Ubuntu on a server!
rm -rf ~/.Trash/*
- Just be careful when running the rm -rf command!