By default, up to 500 commands that you have used are saved into a hidden file ( ~/.bash_history). You can access these commands by using your up/down keys on your keyboard - which makes it easy to retrieve and reuse them. To view all the entries within the history, run the command
This will then display each entry within the .bash_history file. IF you are wanting to clear your history, rather then deleting all the information within the above file, just use the command:
If you have a number of different users on your laptop / pc, you will need to run this command on each user account.